Web Star Fraud
Report
Active
Domain
Don't Bear Internet Fraud
Home
Bobbear Icon
Web Star screenshot
Web Star screenshot.

Web Star is one of a number of identical Russian 'technoscams' including
Unix HostingSun Hosting, Web Ground, Maestro Hosting, Star Net, M Web Hosting and no doubt others. All using a fake webhosting front company to hide the usual money laundering part time work from home 'job' that consists of accepting stolen funds from credit card fraud into your private bank account and transferring them back out via Moneygram or Western Union. In this case their current domain web-star-online.com was only registered with Melbourne IT (Yahoo) on 26-Nov-2007 and the registrant's whois details are hidden by Privacy Protect which is not the action of a legitimate company. Their website uses content stolen from a variety of places, including The Planet. For example, their "Executive team" texts are stolen from the Webhostingbuzz websiteThe photographs of their supposed Executive team are actually the Opera Software Executive team. Here is a Web Ground, (identical scam website), victim's story, from Rip-Off report, along with a couple of reports from victims of another identical fraud, Unix Hosting here and here.

This fraud should not be confused with any other company of the same or similar name - the above website screenshot and the following fraud evidence refer to this company alone and no other.

Evidence of Criminal Fraud:

i) According to the Web Star home page (linked screenshot above):

"We have created and launched hundreds of successful websites since our inception".
However, their current domain web-star-online.com was only registered with Melbourne IT (Yahoo) on 26-Nov-2007 and the registrant's whois details are hidden by Privacy Protect which is not the action of a legitimate company.

ii) The
Web Star Inc. website carries the following "PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy" money mule criminal solicitation under the "Careers tab. The Job Description for this task is as follows:

Job Details
Job Title: PayPal Gateway Administrator
Requisition Number 07-45638
Post Date 7/12/07
Location Home Based (working from home)
Branch/Dept. Transfer Department
Type On-line Vacancy
Status Part Time
Description The PayPal Gateway Administrator will be part of the Transfer Department Team and be responsible for the development, execution, and transferring electronic currency between Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram systems for our customers. Focus will be on operations, reporting, budgeting, and planning of the company's on-going paid initiatives.
More info about this vacancy you can read here.

That is a clear 'money mule' function, transferring funds via Moneygram and Western Union. No legitimate company is going to advertise for this sort of part time, 'work from home' money transfer position among the uncertified general population overseas, to do so defines the company as both bogus and criminal.

Clicking on the 'more info' link above takes you to this text:

PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy

The newly formed Transfer Department is responsible for driving the payments between eBay's paid systems, Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram. This Transfer Department is part of the Web Star team, whose mission is web hosting and web design service.

PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy

The PayPal Gateway Administrator will be part of the Transfer Department Team and be responsible for the development, execution, and transferring electronic currency between Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram systems for our customers. Focus will be on operations, reporting, budgeting, and planning of the company's on-going paid initiatives.

Responsibilities

    * Maintain and operate day-to-day campaign spend and allocation for internal paid application.
    * Identify and analyze data/performance trends and communicate performance numbers to management on a weekly basis.
    * Identify and execute optimization initiatives to increase campaign ROI.
    * Drive global coordination, prioritization, and planning for our paid programs.
    * Identify, document, and communicate global electronic paid best practices.
    * Share accountability for meeting Transfer Department team's aggressive revenue and efficiency targets.

Salary

$700 USD per week.

Training

Training by means of a several test transactions online. Training is free of charge.


iii) The critical sentence is the last one. The training is actually the job and consists of 'several test transactions' consisting of accepting stolen funds from credit card fraud into your account and transferring them back to the criminals via Moneygram and Western Union. After these fraud 'test transactions' are completed, all communication with the fake company ceases and no more is heard from them as per this victim's story from the identical Web Ground fraud. Clear evidence of criminal fraud.


iv) The criminals 'Executive Team' details have all been stolen from the Webhostingbuzz website and renamed, (albeit rather carelessly as the bio for the fake "Michael Maison" mistakenly includes a reference to the stolen persona of Alex). The photographs of their supposed Executive team are actually the Opera Software management team. Absolutely irrefutable evidence of criminal fraud.

v) 'Contact Us' Details from website:


Headquarters in New York, USA
Address

Web Star
3 Sheridan Square
NY 10014 New York
USA
Mailing address

Web Star
3 Sheridan Square
NY 10014 New York
USA

Tel:
    +1-800-659-9061
Fax:
    +1-800-903-7091
Telephone hours:
    9 am - 5 pm

Contact online
Satellite offices
San Diego, USA

Web Star
4242 Jutland Dr.
Suite 15
San Diego, CA 92117
Mountain View, USA

Web Star
692 E. El Camino Real
Suite 207
Mountain View, CA 94040
Tokyo, Japan

Web Star
Tokyu Ikejiriohashi bldg 1F
3-8-2 Higashiyama Meguro
Tokyo 153-0043

Tel: +81 3 5768 8223
Fax: +81 3 5768 8224
Beijing, China

Web Star
Rm. 1002, Full Tower
No.3 DongSanHuanZhong Road
100020, Beijing

Tel:
    +86 10 85 91 18 30


Seoul, Korea

Web Star
Suite 702, City Air Terminal, 152-6
Samsung-dong, Gangnam-gu,
Seoul, Korea

Tel: +82 2 551 3876
Fax: +82 2 551 3879


• - The 'satellite offices' are all exactly the same as for all of the criminal's other identical fraud aliases, but the head office addresses differ. Clear evidence of fraud.

• - The address 3 Sheridan Square is a very expensive residential 30 apartment elevator cooperative block and certainly not the New York headquarters of these two-bit crooks.


The above evidence clearly demonstrates beyond any doubt that the Web Star Inc. website has been set up very recently by money laundering criminals purely for the purpose of spamvertising an illegal money laundering 'mule' job. If you are an abuse team that has received an abuse report regarding these fraudsters, please consider immediate termination of their services in view of the absolutely undeniable evidence of criminal activity - please don't delay - these criminals will not respond to any communication from you, (all their whois data is false), but will simply take advantage of any attempt at communication as a delaying tactic to allow them time to carry on their criminal activity and prepare their next network.

 
Known Website Domains

web-star-online.com

Registrar

Melbourne IT (Yahoo) 26-Nov-2007


Active
Suspended/Disabled
Parked


Network Data

(Valid for domain web-star-online.com)


How I am searching:

Searching for web-star-online.com A record at m.root-servers.net [202.12.27.33]: Got referral to J.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. (zone: com.)
Searching for web-star-online.com A record at J.GTLD-SERVERS.NET. [192.48.79.30]: Got referral to yns2.yahoo.com. (zone: web-star-online.com.)
Searching for web-star-online.com A record at yns2.yahoo.com. [66.196.84.168]: Reports web-star-online.com. Response:
Domain Type Class TTL Answer
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.235
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.236
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.237
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.192
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.193
web-star-online.com. A IN 1200 216.39.58.194
web-star-online.com. NS IN 86400 yns1.yahoo.com.
web-star-online.com. NS IN 86400 ns9.san.yahoo.com.
web-star-online.com. NS IN 86400 ns8.san.yahoo.com.
web-star-online.com. NS IN 86400 yns2.yahoo.com.
yns1.yahoo.com. A IN 1800 66.218.71.205
yns2.yahoo.com. A IN 1800 216.109.116.20
ns8.san.yahoo.com. A IN 1800 66.218.71.205
ns9.san.yahoo.com. A IN 1800 216.109.116.20

Status: Records all match.

Looking up at the 2 web-star-online.com. parent servers:

Server Response
yns2.yahoo.com [66.196.84.168]  216.39.58.200 216.39.58.201 216.39.58.202 216.39.58.203 216.39.58.204 216.39.58.205
yns1.yahoo.com [66.218.71.205]  216.39.58.206 216.39.58.207 216.39.58.208 216.39.58.209 216.39.58.235 216.39.58.236

The host for this criminal is the Yahoo 'small business network' so often used by these criminals.


Fraud Log

25th. July 2008
Webpage created

***Latest News*** 02-Mar-2009
The domain web-star-online.com has been disabled - please notify me of any active domains for this criminal.

***Latest News*** 8th. May 2009
Page consigned to archive - please notify me of any activity from this criminal.