Web Ground Fraud
Report
Active
Domain
Don't Bear Internet Fraud
Home
Bobbear Icon
Web Ground screenshot
Web Ground screenshot.

Web Ground is one of a number of identical Russian 'technoscams' including
Unix Hosting, Sun Hosting, (dead), Star Net, Maestro Hosting, Web Star and no doubt others. All using a fake webhosting front company to hide the usual money laundering part time work from home 'job' that consists of accepting stolen funds from credit card fraud into your private bank account and transferring them back out via Moneygram or Western Union. In this case their current domains webgroundltd.net and webgroundonline.org were only registered with Melbourne IT (Yahoo) on 20-Nov-2007 and the registrant's whois details are hidden by Privacy Protect which is not the action of a legitimate company. Their website uses content stolen from a variety of places, including The Planet. For example, their "Executive team" texts are stolen from the Webhostingbuzz website and the photographs of their supposed Executive team are actually the Opera Software Executive team. Here is a Web Ground victim's story, from Rip-Off report, along with a couple of reports from victims of the identical fraud Unix Hosting here and here. The fake company is not registered in its supposed headquarters state of NY & the company location details are bogus.

This fraud should not be confused with any other company of the same or similar name - the above website screenshot and the following fraud evidence refer to this company alone and no other.

Evidence of Criminal Fraud:

i) According to the Web Ground home page (linked screenshot above):

"We have created and launched hundreds of successful websites since our inception".
However, their current domain webgroundltd.net was only registered with Melbourne IT (Yahoo) on 20-Nov-2007 and the registrant's whois details are hidden by Privacy Protect which is not the action of a legitimate company.

ii) A search of the New York state 'Corporation and Business Entity Database' shows that there is no such company as 'Webground' registered in the state in which it claims to have its headquarters. Clear evidence of fraud.

iii) The
Web Ground Inc. website carries the following "PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy" money mule criminal solicitation under the "Careers tab. The Job Description for this task is as follows:

Job Details
Job Title: PayPal Gateway Administrator
Requisition Number 07-45638
Post Date 26/11/07
Location Home Based (working from home)
Branch/Dept. Transfer Department
Type On-line Vacancy
Status Part Time
Description The PayPal Gateway Administrator will be part of the Transfer Department Team and be responsible for the development, execution, and transferring electronic currency between Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram systems for our customers. Focus will be on operations, reporting, budgeting, and planning of the company's on-going paid initiatives.
More info about this vacancy you can read here.

That is a clear 'money mule' function, transferring funds via Moneygram and Western Union. No legitimate company is going to advertise for this sort of part time, 'work from home' money transfer position among the uncertified general population overseas, to do so defines the company as both bogus and criminal.

Clicking on the 'more info' link takes you to this text:

PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy

The newly formed Transfer Department is responsible for driving the payments between eBay's paid systems, Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram. This Transfer Department is part of the Web Ground team, whose mission is web hosting and web design service.

PayPal Gateway Administrator Vacancy

The PayPal Gateway Administrator will be part of the Transfer Department Team and be responsible for the development, execution, and transferring electronic currency between Pay Pal, Western Union and Money Gram systems for our customers. Focus will be on operations, reporting, budgeting, and planning of the company's on-going paid initiatives.

Responsibilities

Salary

$700 USD per week.

Training

Training by means of a several test transactions online. Training is free of charge.


iv) The critical sentence is the last one. The training is actually the job and consists of 'several test transactions' consisting of accepting stolen funds from credit card fraud into your account and transferring them back to the criminals via Moneygram and Western Union. After these fraud 'test transactions' are completed, all communication with the fake company ceases and no more is heard from them as per this victim's story. Clear evidence of criminal fraud.


v) The criminals 'Executive Team' text details have all been stolen from the Webhostingbuzz website and renamed, (albeit rather carelessly as the bio for the fake "Michael Maison" mistakenly includes a reference to the stolen persona of Alex). The photographs of their supposed Executive team are actually the Opera Software management team. Absolutely irrefutable evidence of criminal fraud.

vi) Contact Details from the website:

Headquarters in Brooklyn, USA
Address

Web Ground
100 Whitman Drive
NY 11234 Brooklyn
USA

Tel:
    +1-800-515-8576
Fax:
    +1-888-318-9216
Telephone hours:
    9 am - 5 pm

Contact online
Satellite offices
San Diego, USA

Web Ground
4242 Jutland Dr.
Suite 15
San Diego, CA 92117
Mountain View, USA

Web Ground
692 E. El Camino Real
Suite 207
Mountain View, CA 94040
Tokyo, Japan

Web Ground
Tokyu Ikejiriohashi bldg 1F
3-8-2 Higashiyama Meguro
Tokyo 153-0043

Tel: +81 3 5768 8223
Fax: +81 3 5768 8224
Beijing, China

Web Ground
Rm. 1002, Full Tower
No.3 DongSanHuanZhong Road
100020, Beijing

Tel:
    +86 10 85 91 18 30


Seoul, Korea

Web Ground
Suite 702, City Air Terminal, 152-6
Samsung-dong, Gangnam-gu,
Seoul, Korea

Tel: +82 2 551 3876
Fax: +82 2 551 3879

• -
According to nyc.gov building records, the address 100 Whitman Drive, NY 11234 Brooklyn is an individually owned residential family home (Occupancy J-3, zoning R2) and is certainly not the headquarters of these criminals.
Clear evidence of fraud.
• - The 'satellite offices' are all exactly the same as for all of the criminal's other identical fraud aliases, but the head office addresses differ. Clear evidence of fraud.
• - A USPS Zip code check on the address 4242 Jutland Dr. San Diego returns the following message: "The address you provided is not recognized by the US Postal Service as an address we serve. Mail sent to this address may be returned". It is a fake address. Clear verifiable evidence of fraud.
The above evidence clearly demonstrates beyond any doubt that the Web Ground Inc. website has been set up very recently by money laundering criminals purely for the purpose of spamvertising an illegal money laundering 'mule' job. If you are an abuse team that has received an abuse report regarding these fraudsters, please consider immediate termination of their services in view of the absolutely undeniable evidence of criminal activity - please don't delay - these criminals will not respond to any communication from you, (all their whois data is false), but will simply take advantage of any attempt at communication as a delaying tactic to allow them time to carry on their criminal activity and prepare their next network.

 
Known Website Domains

webgroundltd.net
webgroundonline.org

Registrar

Melbourne IT (Yahoo) 20-Nov-2007
Melbourne IT (Yahoo) 20-Nov-2007
Active
Suspended/Disabled


Network Data

(Valid for domain webgroundltd.net, webgroundonline.org)


How I am searching:

Searching for webgroundltd.net A record at b.root-servers.net [192.228.79.201]: Got referral to B.GTLD-SERVERS.net. (zone: net.)
Searching for webgroundltd.net A record at B.GTLD-SERVERS.net. [192.33.14.30]: Got referral to yns2.yahoo.com. (zone: webgroundltd.net.)
Searching for webgroundltd.net A record at yns2.yahoo.com. [66.196.84.168]: Reports webgroundltd.net. Response:
DomainTypeClassTTLAnswer
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.199
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.200
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.201
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.202
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.203
webgroundltd.net.AIN1200216.39.58.204
webgroundltd.net.NSIN86400yns1.yahoo.com.
webgroundltd.net.NSIN86400ns9.san.yahoo.com.
webgroundltd.net.NSIN86400yns2.yahoo.com.
webgroundltd.net.NSIN86400ns8.san.yahoo.com.
yns1.yahoo.com.AIN180066.218.71.205
yns2.yahoo.com.AIN1800216.109.116.20
ns8.san.yahoo.com.AIN180066.218.71.205
ns9.san.yahoo.com.AIN1800216.109.116.20

Status: Records all match.

Looking up at the 2 webgroundltd.net. parent servers:

ServerResponse
yns2.yahoo.com [66.196.84.168] 216.39.58.193 216.39.58.194 216.39.58.195 216.39.58.196 216.39.58.197 216.39.58.198
yns1.yahoo.com [66.218.71.205] 216.39.58.205 216.39.58.206 216.39.58.207 216.39.58.208 216.39.58.209 216.39.58.235

The host for this criminal is the Yahoo 'small business network' so often used by these criminals.


Fraud Log

25th. July 2008
Webpage created

***Latest News*** 24th. September 2008
Report from site contact - domain webgroundonline.org disabled. Please notify me of any active domains/website URLs.

***Latest News*** 8th. May 2009
Page consigned to archive - please notify me of any activity from this criminal.